Awards for Walton Centre’s ‘angels’

A nurse who has cared for people with head injuries and illnesses for 35 years has been given a special accolade by The Walton Centre.

Phillipa Kane – Phil to all who know her – was presented with a ‘Director of Nursing Award’ at the Trust’s first Annual Nursing Awards.

Director of Nursing Award Winner Phil Kane

In her early nursing years Phil worked in the ‘Nellie Wards’, as nurses called the neurosurgical wards N1 and N2 in the old Walton Hospital. Soon after, The Walton Centre became a stand-alone NHS hospital.

Today, the Trust has grown and developed into one of the country’s leading centres for neuroscience, employing 900 staff at its Aintree site and delivering services across Merseyside, Cheshire and North Wales.

Team of the Year Winner Caton Ward

Phil’s career has included roles as night sister, sister, matron and specialist nurse. She is currently The Walton Centre’s Corporate Lead Nurse for Infection Control and Tissue Viability.

She said: “The satisfaction you get from nursing is something I can’t describe; it is what you feel inside when you have made a contribution to a patient’s recovery. I still get that feeling every single time and it is second to none.

Advanced Specialist Nurse Winner Catherine Stoneley

“An example is a young man who was desperately ill and who we thought wouldn’t recover. When he left us to go into a nursing home he couldn’t communicate and wasn’t aware of his surroundings.

“He came back to see us and he walked in, unaided; he told us he has got his own bungalow and is looking after himself; and he is hoping to get back to university. Seeing that makes it all worthwhile.”

Inspirational Leader Winner Cathy Burke

Director of Nursing and Modernisation Lisa Grant said: “Phil truly cares about patients and cares about nursing and will always come and advise me when she is worried about anything that impacts on either group; she is a matron through and through.”

Other award winners were: Advanced Specialist Nurse of the Year, Cathy Stoneley; Inspirational Leader, Cathy Burke; Patient Experience, Frank Kennedy; Patient Safety, Sarah Griffiths; Team of the Year, Caton Ward.

Patient Safety Winner Sarah Griffiths

Runners up were: Anna Crofton, Sara Kewin, Michelle Rackham, Nadine Daniels, Chris Jessop, Joan Sawtell, Jim McIntosh, Elaine Moss, Bed Management Team, Infection Control Team.

The awards were held to celebrate International Nursing Day and were presented by Walton MP Steve Rotherham. Staff from Costco delivered hundreds of cakes to present to all nurses in the hospital, to mark the occasion.

Patient Experience Winner Frank Kennedy